Monday, December 21, 2009

Khan Kluay II wins best animation award at 53rd Asia-Pacific Film Festival

On hiatus because of financial problems for the past two editions, the 53rd Asia-Pacific Film Festival was held over the weekend in Kaohsiung, Taiwan, screening 58 films from 14 countries.

The lone Thai entry was the animated feature Khan Kluay II: Story of the Noble Warrior. Kantana Animation's feature won the best animation award in the festival.

Indonesian director Riri Riza's The Rainbow Troops won best film, and Taiwan was the big winner, with five awards, including best director for Leon Dai's No Peudo Vivir Sin Ti.

Here's the list of awards:

  • Best Film: The Rainbow Troops, Indonesia
  • Best Director: Leon Dai, No Peudo Vivir Sin Ti, Taiwan
  • Best Actor: Nick Cheung, The Beast Stalker, Hong Kong
  • Best Actress: Sandrine Pinna, Yang Yang, Taiwan
  • Best Supporting Actor: Cheng Xu Hui, Money No Enough II, Singapore
  • Best Supporting Actress: Widyawati Sophiaan, Woman with a Turban, Indonesia Best Screenplay: Accident, Hong Kong
  • Best Cinematography: No Peudo Vivir Sin Ti, Taiwan
  • Best Editing: Dev.D, India
  • Best Music: Adrift, Vietnam
  • Best Sound: Jamila and the President, Indonesia
  • Best Documentary: Baseball Boys, Taiwan
  • Best Animation: Khan Kluay II: Story of the Noble Warrior, Thailand
  • Best Short Film: Hopscotch, Taiwan
  • Outstanding Achievement: John Woo, Hong Kong
  • Special Contribution: Raam Punjabi, Indonesia

Among the Singaporean entries was Thai director Ekachai Uekrongtham's The Wedding Game

(Via Anak Wayang, DPA/Monsters & Critics)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please, no questions or comments about where to download movies or subtitle files.

Please read the FAQ about Thai films on DVD before asking about where to find a Thai movie on DVD with English subtitles.

Make your comments pertinent to the post you are commenting on. For off-topic comments, general observations or news tips, consider sending an e-mail to me at wisekwai [ a t ] g m a i l [d o t ] c o m.

All comments are moderated. Spam comments will be deleted.