Friday, September 12, 2008

Wonderful Town submitted for Asia Pacific Screen Awards

Indie director Aditya Assarat's Wonderful Town is among the more than 180 entries submitted for the second Asia Pacific Screen Awards.

The entries received this year from 43 territories is more than twice the number the APSA received last year for the first awards. A short-list of nominees will be announced early next month, according to the APSA website.

The entry list also includes films by Aamir Khan, Johnnie To, Majid Majidi, Ashutosh Gowariker, Kiyoshi Kurosawa, Mai Masri, Ari Folman, Annemarie Jacir, Benjamin Gilmour, Anna Melikyan and Vincent Ward.

Categories are Best Feature Film, Best Animated Feature Film, Best Documentary Feature Film, Best Children’s Feature Film, Achievement in Directing, Best Screenplay, Achievement in Cinematography, Best Performance by an Actress and Best Performance by an Actor. There is also the FIAPF Award from the International Federation of Film Producers Associations for outstanding achievement in film in the Asia-Pacific region; the UNESCO Award for outstanding contribution to the promotion and preservation of cultural diversity through film, and the Jury Grand Prize.

The awards will be presented in a ceremony on November 11 in Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia. The kudosfest is an international cultural initiative of the State Government of Queensland through Queensland Events Corporation.

Wonderful Town has been a fixture on the film-festival circuit for the past year. Upcoming screenings include fests in Helsinki, Bangkok, Vancouver and London.

(Via eBroadcast, Variety)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please, no questions or comments about where to download movies or subtitle files.

Please read the FAQ about Thai films on DVD before asking about where to find a Thai movie on DVD with English subtitles.

Make your comments pertinent to the post you are commenting on. For off-topic comments, general observations or news tips, consider sending an e-mail to me at wisekwai [ a t ] g m a i l [d o t ] c o m.

All comments are moderated. Spam comments will be deleted.